E-mail comments/suggestions/funny stories to the7dayweekendguys@gmail.com

Tuesday, August 24, 2010

Dude Watching TV Actually Calls LPGA Officials To DQ Someone

YahooSports.com - Inkster was disqualified from the Safeway Classic on Saturday afternoon for a rules violation, but that's not the real story. The more interesting element is how she was caught.

First, the story. Inkster was playing well -- just three strokes behind leader Ai Miyazato -- when she hit a traffic jam on the 10th hole of the Pumpkin Ridge course. With a 30-minute wait stretching out before her, she attached a small "doughnut" weight to her nine-iron and swung to stay loose, much like a batter in the on-deck circle.

However, unlike a batter in the on-deck circle, a golfer can't use a weight like that during competition; it's illegal to use a training aid during play. And so Inkster was disqualified once she finished her round.

But here's the kicker: the LPGA found out thanks to a tip from a keen-eyed television viewer. This oh-so-helpful soul called tournament officials, and after consultation with the United States Golf Association, the LPGA decided that Inkster had to go.

First of all, who legitimately watches the LPGA? Not that I have anything against women's golf, I just find golf only enjoyable on like a late Saturday or Sunday of a big men's tournament, when there are about 15 people right at the top of the leaderboard. But apparently, this stooge pays attention to every minute detail of the LPGA, and cares about the integrity of the game so much, that he called officials to tell them to disqualify one of the golfers.

Unreal, sir. I hope that you're happy with yourself. You have amazing eye-sight, and a serious lack of anything better to do with your sad life.

No comments:

Post a Comment